$econdhand First Class

A thrift store fanatic shares her shopping secrets

Why Shop Secondhand?

Jeans, T-shirt, jacket, and scarf from thrift store

Thrift store bargains await!

I have been shopping at thrift stores since I was 8 or 9 years old. My mother had to feed and dress 5 girls on a truck driver’s salary and Goodwill was a welcome resource in the wardrobe department. My first score was a pair of purple pedal pushers and a coordinating striped top. I probably looked like purple stick but I felt like Audrey Hepburn.

I don’t have the outfit anymore but that experience gave me something better:  A love of the bargain and a passion for shopping at thrift stores.

This blog isn’t meant to help you harvest valuables from thrift stores to sell online. It is meant to help you find the best bargains for your family and home. The average family spends about 4% of their income on clothing. Let’s break that down into practical numbers: If a family of 4 earns $60,000 a year, they spend $2,400 for clothes. That’s $600 per person, not a lot of money considering that a pair of jeans can cost $50.00.

Let’s take a little shopping trip to your local thrift store and see what you could get for $50.00. Prices could be more or less depending on your locale.

Jeans 2 @ $8.00 each

$16.00

Jacket $12.00 each

12.00

Tops 3 @ $5.00 each

15.00

Earrings, a hat, or that cute skirt

7.00

Total: $50.00

 

And now, ladies and gentleman, I rest my case. That is why I shop at thrift stores.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Why Shop Secondhand?

  1. Susan on said:

    Great information and presentation! I will be looking forward to more!

Leave a Reply

